Primary Class Curriculum

5 basic Concepts

Practical Life

There are four areas of the practical life curriculum: grace and courtesy, elementary movements through the development of large and fine motor skills, care of environment, and the care of person. Practical life work serves as a foundation for the other four areas of the curriculum.


Children are sensorial learners, actively exploring the environment and absorbing information through all the senses. The sensorial curriculum is designed to utilize the child’s strong attraction to sensorial experience and has as its goals to strengthen and refine each of the child’s perceptions. Children are aided in gradually abstracting the various properties such as size, length, breadth, weight, texture, color, shade volume, and shape.


The language curriculum covers both receptive and expressive language through kinesthetic, auditory, and visual perception. This is done through use of the Montessori language materials to facilitate vocabulary development and enrichment.


The mathematics curriculum introduces children to numerical concepts in order to create a concrete, as well as an abstract, understanding of quantities. It brings abstract concepts to life through the use of kinesthetic work based around real-life situations, and uses these understandings to help children memorize numerical concepts.

Cultural Studies

Cultural studies are integral to the Montessori curriculum, because they help foster an awareness and understanding of the world in which the child lives. Through cultural studies, children are introduced to a number of interrelated subjects which will be important to their further education, including history, geography, basic life sciences, art, and music.

Children choose activities that interest them.
Three-hour work periods promote focus in young children.
We provide fully stocked classrooms with attractive materials.